• Phone: (239) 247-5125
  • info@cisinsfl.com

Do you Know Florida’s Highway Safety Laws? | Naples Insurance Agency | Fort Myers Insurance Agency

Oct, 19
0

safety lawsDo you know that every state has their own set of highway safety laws? What are the laws for Florida? Since a lot of people travel here and also live here part of the year, they might not be aware that Florida’s laws are different than the state they originate. Here is what you should know before getting behind the wheel of your car:

In Florida, as of October 2016, the laws are as follows:

  • You CANNOT text while driving

 

  • You CAN talk on the phone while driving

 

  • Aggressive driving has to include two of the following: speeding, not passing correctly, unsafe or incorrect lane changes, following another vehicle too closely, not yielding to right or way, not obeying traffic control devices such as stop lights and signs.

 

  • Florida law does require that all vehicles that registered with the state have automobile insurance. You must have a minimum coverage of $10,000 in personal injury protection and a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability. Your license and your registration can be suspended if you are caught driving without car insurance.

 

  • Drunk driving laws in Florida requires a 6-month license suspension for a DUI and 12 months’ suspension for refusal. You can get your driving privileges back after 30 days for a DUI and after 90 days for refusal. Ignition interlocks are placed on vehicles when the driver had a high blood alcohol concentration. This specific device measures requires the driver to take a breathalyzer in order to start the car. If alcohol is detected, it disables the vehicle. If you drive drunk, your vehicle will be impounded or forfeited. You cannot drive with an open container in the vehicle. And Florida does have repeat offender laws. It also allows insurance companies to deny payments for the drunk driver’s injuries.

 

  • Helmet laws vary state to state as well. In Florida, there is a partial law when it comes to motorcycles. Those who are under the age of 21 and those who have less than $10,000 in medical coverage for potential motorcycle injuries are required to wear a helmet while driving their motorcycle. Bicycle helmets are required for anyone under the age of 16 yrs. old.

 

  • Mature drivers have a higher crash rate than those who are middle age. 33 states have restrictions on elderly driver’s renewal of their license. Florida is one of them. It is required that they renew every eight years, with those over 80 years old to renew every 6 years, along with a vision test. If they renew by mail, a physician’s letter is required.

 

  • Sobriety checkpoints where law enforcement stations officers at a specific point and checks drivers randomly for driving under the influence. Florida is a state that does have DUI checkpoints and utilizes them between 15 – 20 times every month. Doing this is upheld by the federal Constitution

 

  • The Speed limit in Florida is as follows: 70 mph for rural interstates, 65 mph for city interstates, and limited access roads the speed limit is 70.

 

If you are in need of automobile insurance, please contact Centennial Insurance Services to put together a quote for you. Call us today at 239-247-5125 or fill out a free quote form online. Drive Safely!

 

For more detailed information on highway safety laws in the state of Florida, visit the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

The post Do you Know Florida’s Highway Safety Laws? appeared first on .

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.