When we say state-mandated insurance, we are referring to the bare minimum of coverage allowable by law for you to drive and still be legal. This is by no means the recommendation of Centennial Insurance Services or any other insurer.
While different states mandate different types of insurance basic auto policies consist of: bodily injury liability, personal injury protection, property damage liability, collision, comprehensive and uninsured/underinsured motorist.
Each section of the policy is priced separately in order to be able to adjust for levels of coverage.
Bodily injury liability in Florida $10,000 towards injuries per person per accident. This caps out at $20,000 for all persons per accident.
Bodily injury liability applies to injuries that you, the policyholder, cause. You are covered as well while driving the car or truck.
*It’s highly recommended that policyholders buy more than the state-required minimum liability insurance, enough to protect assets or you could lose your savings and even your home.
Medical payments or personal injury protection (PIP) is set at $10,000
PIP coverage pays for medical treatment for the driver and passengers of the policyholder’s car. PIP can be used to cover medical payments, lost wages, and even funeral costs. In Florida, you have to have initiated medical treatment within 14 days or you forfeit this benefit.
Property damage liability for Florida stands at $10,000 per accident
This coverage pays for damage you cause to someone else’s property. This applies to automobiles as well as other items you may hit and damage with your vehicle.
These inclusions are what is mandated by the state of Florida. They will get you legally on the road at a cheap insurance price but at what cost? What you are missing from the policy really is there to protect you in the event of an accident.
OPTIONAL NON MANDATED COVERAGES
Collision is not a mandatory coverage in Florida. Beware, if your car is damaged or totaled and you have no collision coverage you will get no reimbursement.
Collision coverage pays for damage to your car resulting from a collision with another car, an object, such as a tree or telephone pole, hitting a big pothole, or even a bad accident where the car flips and rolls.
If you are at fault for the accident, your collision coverage will reimburse you for the costs of repairing your car, less your deductible. If you’re not at fault, your insurance company will try to recover the amount they paid you from the other driver’s insurance company and, if they are successful, you’ll also be reimbursed for your deductible.
Comprehensive is not mandated in Florida. Beware – If your car is damaged it will come out of your pocket. No claim will be valid.
Comprehensive coverage covers you for loss due to theft or damage caused by something other than a collision with another car. Comprehensive covers things like fire, falling objects, missiles, explosion, earthquake, windstorm, hail, flood, vandalism, riot, or contact with animals. It will also pay to replace your windshield if it cracks.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage -It is estimated that as many as 26.7% of drivers on the road in Florida have no insurance. That means if they hit you and damage your car or worse injure you. You are left to pay every single bill.
Underinsured motorist coverage reimburses you, a member of your family, or a designated driver if one of you is hit by an uninsured driver or a driver who doesn’t have sufficient insurance to pay for your total loss. This coverage also offers protection in the event a covered driver is the victim of a hit-and-run or if, as a pedestrian, you are struck by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
Shopping for auto insurance? Give Centennial Insurance Services a call today and let us work up a free no-obligation custom quote for you. 239-247-5125. www.cisinsfl.com.